ACA Foundation Board

Ian Godson

ACA Foundation Treasurer

Ian Godson, the Managing Director and Principal Consultant of Infracorr Consulting, has 30 years experience in all aspects of remedial engineering including condition assessment, remedial design and cathodic protection design and installation. Ian’s experience with cathodic protection of reinforced concrete structures traces back to 1987 when, following training with Oronzio de Nora, of Milan Italy, one of the world’s foremost manufacturers and designers of Cathodic Protection anodes and systems for concrete he introduced the technology to Australia. As well as his extensive experience with Cathodic Protection and condition assessment, Ian has a long history of involvement in Design for Durability. Most recently he has been involved in the Port Capacity Project (Webb Dock), however other projects include the Sydney Opera House Substructure, and the City Link Bridge Structures. Ian has a strong industry connection and has published a number of papers relating to condition assessment and cathodic protection design. A regular presenter at both the European Corrosion Congress and Australasian Corrosion Association annual conferences, Ian’s commitment to being at the forefront of remediation technology is a strong driver in his ongoing success.

Willie Mandeno

Board Member

Willie L. Mandeno is a retired civil engineer who specialised in the specification of engineering materials and protective coatings. He is based in Wellington, New Zealand and is retained by WSP as a Consultant. Willie is a Chartered Professional Engineer, a Fellow of Engineers NZ, an ACA Corrosion Medallist and Life Member, and an AMPP Corrosion Specialist and CIP Instructor. He has contributed to the production of several coating standards including AS/NZS 2312 and SNZ TS 3404, and also industry guidelines such as Protective coatings for steel bridges published by Waka Kotahi the NZ Transport Agency, Weathering Steel - Design Guide for Bridges in Australia for BlueScope, and Conservation of iron and steelwork in historic structures and machinery for the NZ Department of Conservation. Willie has been a member of the ACA since 1984 serving on the NZ Branch Committee since 1985, the ACA Operations Board from 1998 to 2010 and as the Corrosion & Materials Associate Editor from 1994 to 2020.

Ian MacLeod

Board Member

Ian D. MacLeod completed his studies at the University of Melbourne. From 1978 he developed in-situ corrosion monitoring of historic shipwrecks and the application of sacrificial anodes to the treatment of corroded iron anchors, cannon and hull structures. He retired from the Western Australian Museum in May 2016 where he is now a Fellow. Ian was recently honoured with the WA Heritage Award for Professional Practice. He now runs Heritage Conservation Solutions which provides custom solutions to complex decay issues of cultural materials. He was the corrosion consultant on the conservation assessment and management of AE2. He has written many book chapters on materials conservation and corrosion processes and has more than 190 papers on the study of decay mechanisms and development of new treatment methods to preserve cultural materials. He has a Ph D in electrochemistry and a D Sc in Materials Conservation from the University of Melbourne. He is a fellow of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (FRACI), the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (FTSE), the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC) and of the International Institute for the Conservation and Restoration of Historic and Artistic Works (FIIC) and the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland (FSA Scot).

Wayne Burns

Chair Person - ACA Foundation

Wayne Burns has been a Corrosion engineer for 50 years beginning with 28 years at Wilson Walton International and most recently over 22 years at Anode Engineering. A Life Member of the ACA, he has held office in all branch committee positions for over 40 years. Wayne is passionate about giving back to the corrosion community. As a founder, former director and frequent contributor to the ACA Foundation, he believes that young people are the future of our association and hopes to continue his work in empowering young through his current role as Chair of the Membership Committee.

Kateriňa Lepková

Board Member


The The Australasian Corrosion Association Inc. website is not compatible with Internet Explorer. Please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, Edge, or Safari for the best experience.