The award honours the late Professor Brian Cherry of Monash University for his significant contribution to corrosion education, consulting and the Australasian Corrosion Association Inc.

The Brian Cherry Award Forum is open to postgraduate and final year undergraduate research students studying at an Australasian University. Applicants could be studying any aspect of corrosion, including but not limited to metallic and non-metallic corrosion, corrosion management, corrosion mitigation, and corrosion protection.

The award will be judged over 2 events, both conducted via Zoom, an initial 3 min thesis event and a subsequent final longer style presentation forum consisting of up to 4 winners selected from the 3 min thesis event.

Taking part in the Forum provides students with the opportunity to present their corrosion related research work as well as showcase their talent to their peers and the Australasian Corrosion Industry – including potential employers.


You can tune in to watch the first round of the Brian Cherry Awards Forum by registering HERE

1st place – $1,000
2nd place – $500
3rd place – $250
4th place – $100

All prizes will be awarded with certificates.

Application Process
Applications close Monday 14th of August 2023 (CoB) – Now closed

Acceptance of selected abstracts
Week of 4th September 2023

Presentation/Forum Dates
First Round – Three Minute Thesis
Wednesday 11th October 2023 – Register HERE

Second Round – Full Presentation
Wednesday 25th October 2023

If you have any queries that are not covered here, please email this year’s award coordinators:
Dr Julie-Anne Latham and Professor Scott Wade


Applicants submit an abstract of the presentation (no more than 1 page of A4, including any illustrations) via the BCA Portal. Applicants obtain permission from their supervisor and report this by completion on the attached pro-forma.

The award will be judged over 2 events both conducted via Zoom; an initial 3 min thesis event and a subsequent final longer style presentation forum consisting of up to 4 winners selected from the 3 min thesis event.

A minimum 2-week gap between the events will to allow finalists to prepare their presentation for the 2nd round.

Each of the local ACA Branches will review abstracts submitted by students associated with their branch and select up to two students to represent their branch in the 3 min thesis event.

Presenters will be judged on scientific content and presentation skills. The awards will be made on the night following the final round of presentations.


Award Finalists

YearPrevious Finalists
VIC Branch Award
2009Rajeev GuptaArun KumaraSamson SimAbhishek Saxena
2012Muhammad Awais JavedB.V MaheshYafei ZhangXian Zhou
2014Muhammad Awais JavedShravan Kumar KairyMichael LoBrendon Grey
2015Xiaojian XiaFacundo VarelaMuhammad WasimAmy Spark, Yajie Wu
2016Elizabeth MathewsShyama RanadeJessica LyndonJodie Yuwono
2017Yu PengRukshan AzoorQing CaoHoang Phan
2018Rukshan AzoorFangjie ChenMauricio LatinoSeyyed Sobhan
2019Majid LalehVictor Cruz de FariaKai Rui WangMehdi Behrouzvaziri
ACA Award
2020Benjamin Tuck (Winner)Esmaeil Pournamazian NajafabadiBarbara Jardim do NascimentoJoseph Davies
2021Larissa Kopf (Winner)Sofia HazarabedianBen BurtonHongshou Huang
2022Adam Thompson (Winner)Chathumini SamarawickramaAsma LaminGaurav Vithalani

Award Judges

2009Prof. Brian CherryDr Bruce HintonDr Graeme Sussex
2010Prof. Brian CherryDr Bruce HintonDr Chris Weale
2011Dr Chris Weale
2012Dr Chris Weale
2013Dr Chris Weale
2014Prof. Brian CherryDr Chris WealeDr Graeme Sussex
2015Prof. Brian Cherry
2016Assoc. Prof. Scott WadeProf. Maria ForsythDr Rob Francis
2017Prof. Brian CherryAssoc. Prof. Scott WadeDr Rob Francis
2018Assoc. Prof. Scott WadeProf. Nick BirbilisSarah Furman
2019Dr Wayne NeilSarah FurmanRay Valdez
2020 (3MT Round)Dr Ian MacLeodDr Graeme SussexDr Bruce Hinton
2020Prof. Nick BirbilisDr. Peter MartDr. Chris Weale
2022Prof. Nick BirbilisDr Darren CramDr Julie-Anne Latham


The The Australasian Corrosion Association Inc. website is not compatible with Internet Explorer. Please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, Edge, or Safari for the best experience.